Mostly a photoblog

Through the mouth of the storm #1


Mouth of the storm #1

Lighthouse, Grand Haven, Michigan.  This shot was taken about two hours after the Holland Lighthouse photo.  After leaving Holland, we headed up North to try to catch the sunset in Grand Haven.  We were running behind, and arrived at the beach with the sun no where in sight — only a narrow streak of orange sky between the storm clouds and Lake Michigan.

The road was closed for construction, but we got as close as we could and I jumped out of the car and ran maybe another half mile down the beach with my gear.  I found a spot on a sand dune, and hurredly set up camera and tripod facing directly into what felt like a 50 knot wind.  For some strange reason I was expecting some longer exposure shots, but I immediately discovered this would be impossible.  In fact, I had to hold the tripod almost constantly to keep the wind from blowing it over backwards.  Thankfully, the rain held off until I made it back to the car.  Wheh!

Nikon D80, Nikkor 50mm, f/5.6, 1/60 sec, ISO 200.

Comments are closed.