Mostly a photoblog

Orchid #5


Orchid #5

Taken at the University of Michigan’s Matthei Botanical Garden in Ann Arbor, Michigan.  This shot was taken about a month ago, back in early March.  Nikon D80, Nikkor 50mm, f/1.6, 1/800 sec, ISO 200, EV -0.3.

Sort of off my usual topic, but if you flip it around it also makes a great lock screen for my PC (the pic below).  In Windows 8, which is still in beta, the lock screen works sort of like the lock screen on a  smart phone — it shows you key things like calendar appointments coming up, how much battery you have left, unread messages, etc., without having to unlock the PC.  Cool!

Lock Screen on Windows 8

This shot is of my Samsung Series 9 PC running the Windows 8 beta.  Taken with my Windows Phone (Samsung Focus).

7 responses

  1. That’s a Wow picture. I can see I’ve got a lot to learn from you!

    April 7, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    • that’s a wonderful comment, byt i am just tryimg to learn da by day, too. hopefully we can learn from each other! thx for visiting!

      April 7, 2012 at 6:57 pm

      • also trying to learn to type!

        April 7, 2012 at 6:58 pm

  2. Love the photo as well as the lock screen :-)

    April 8, 2012 at 9:27 am

    • Thanks! ;)

      April 8, 2012 at 1:04 pm

  3. Christine Laughren

    Hi John,
    My name is Christine, I’m the manager of marketing at the Ypsilanti Area Convention & Visitors Bureau. I was hoping to use one of your orchid photos taken at the Matthaei Botanical Gardens. They have an Orchid show this weekend and I would like to promote it on our calendar, but need a beautiful photo to accompany. We would definitely give you credit. Let me know if this is possible. Thanks.

    April 19, 2012 at 8:58 am

    • Sure – thanks for asking, and I’m happy to do make it available. (Sorry for my delayed reply).

      April 20, 2012 at 7:31 am