Mostly a photoblog

March morning on the Huron River at Gallup Park


March morning - Huron River at Gallup Park

March morning - Huron River at Gallup Park, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Met a co-worker out in Ann Arbor, Michigan on a couple days this past week.  There’s a park on the way (Gallup Park), and I had a little extra time on Tuesday and Wednesday so I stopped to take a little walk and a few pics.  Both days were cold – maybe 25 degrees at most – and beautiful when the weak morning sun broke out for a few moments here and there.

Boat launch at Gallup Park on Huron River, early morning in March

Boat launch at Gallup Park on Huron River, early morning in March

This shot if from the walking path that borders the parking lot — my truck is about 20 seconds behind me in the parking lot.  It may not be wilderness, but I really appreciate how accessible scenic areas are around Southeast Michigan.

Mallard on the Huron River, Gallup Park
Mallard on the Huron River, Gallup Park

This little duck swam by while I was on the boat launch in the pic above.  In addition to ducks, Gallup Park is home to some larger birds, too.  Geese, yes, and also quite a few swans.  On both Tuesday and Wednesday this week I heard the slow “whoop, whoop, whoop” a swan’s wings make as it tries to get up enough speed to take off.  On Wednesday, I was just putting my camera away when I heard a swan trying to take off.  I spun around and got a few shots, but they really didn’t turn out that hot.  Shutter speed was too slow, and i lacked the presence of mind to get things properly adjusted in the few seconds I had to get the shot. As the swan crossed across my field of view from left to right, I noticed a bunch more already airborn and swooping in from right to left.  They nearly flew into each other, and seven swans flew low across the water, banked left, and headed straight for me.

Six swans swooping in over the Huron River at Gallup Park

Six swans swooping in over the Huron River at Gallup Park

You can see six of them in the pic above.

Three swans over Huron River, Gallup Park, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Three swans over Huron River, Gallup Park, Ann Arbor, Michigan

And three of them in this shot as they flew by… technically, the pic has some issues, but unusual enough to see that I thought I’d go ahead and post it anyway.  Very cool to see “live” – hope these shots give a sense of it.  It’s a little hard to get a sense of scale in these pics, but let me assure you: swans are BIG!

Finally, here’s one last shot below looking east on the Huron River.
Looking East down the Huron River at Gallup Park

Looking East down the Huron River at Gallup Park

Comments are closed.