Mostly a photoblog

Fall colors along the Lower Rouge River Trail


Fall colors in morning light on the Lower Rouge River Trail
After checking out the chainsaw carving festival Saturday afternoon last weekend, I decided to come back to the Lower Rouge River Trail on Sunday (a week ago now) to get some shots of the fall colors in better light.

This park has become one of my favorite places to walk and take pictures — partly because it’s very scenic, partly because it’s so close to home that heading over for 20-30 minutes is entirely reasonable, and partly because the park keeps surprising me!  The main trail is nice, and there are tons of single track side trails, too, for both hikers and mountain bikers to enjoy.   I’ve probably walked most of this park over the last 14 months, but every once in a while I still find a new section of trail… or just a new perspective on an old stretch of trail.  I love that.

In addition to the fall colors, there are still quite a few wildflowers in bloom.  Most common are these white and purple flowers.  Does anyone know what they are?  Whatever their names, they’re perfect for Husky football season.  :)

Wildflowers along Lower Rouge River Trail
October wildflowers in morning light
I spent about an hour or so on the trail this day.  Towards the end of my walk I came across this place where the sun was backlighting a forest full of yellow maple leaves, giving them an almost magical glow.  I found it quite challenging to capture with the camera, actually.  The shot is into the sun, and there’s a wide dynamic range.  I pumped up the contrast and shadows on this shot in Windows Live Photo Gallery, trying to raise the brightness of the leaves without washing out the shadows of the forest.  Frankly, I don’t think the photo does justice to my memory of the “live scene”, but I like this shot nonetheless.

With the light shining towards me to backlight these maple leaves they were almost glowing
Just a little farther down the trail, the yellow maples were joined by staccato bursts of orange and red maple leaves along the clay-dirt path and overhead amongst the forest canopy.

Red and yellow maple leaves along Lower Rouge River Trail
Fall tree tops along Lower Rouge River Trail
You might be surprised to learn that some conifers also change color, taking a beautiful golden hue in the fall.  The article below describes describes the larch, and coincidentally one of my very favorite places in the world to hike!

2 responses

  1. island girl

    You are lucky to have such beauty so close to home! The colors of fall are so vibrant. You did a wonderful job of capturing it. Thanks for sharing your pictures.

    October 18, 2010 at 2:05 pm

  2. Thanks for stopping by!

    October 20, 2010 at 6:26 pm